Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Seeds and Stems


Artist: Bill Kirchen
Label: Proper Records
RRP: £13.99
8 055200 31127
Release Date: 21 June 2013

Seeds and Stems is Bill Kirchen's latest album in a career that spans 45 years. His band is made up of long standing trio Jack O'Dell (drums and vocals), Maurice Cridlin (bass) and signing and writing partner Austin de Lone (piano).

The album dips its toes into rock and country, without being overtly focused on either camp. If you want to pigeonhole its sound - it's probably safer to file it under americana. It's an album with plenty of heart and a lot of soul. Kirchen has poured a lot of himself into this and it shows.

Far and away my favourite track was the heartfelt 'It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry' which has a wonderful guitar riff and arguably this album's most interesting lyrics. Likewise, 'Truck Stop at the End of the World' is interesting as it's a fun, cliched country track.

The album contains 13 tracks and lasts for 51 min, 01 sec.

Track listing:

01 - 'Too Much Fun' (2:39)
02 - 'Tell Me the Reason' (3:06)
03 - 'Down to Seeds and Stems Again' (4:00)
04 - 'Semi Truck' (2:10)
05 - 'Rockabilly Funeral' (4:14)
06 - 'Womb to the Tomb' (3:57)
07 - 'Flip Flop' (3:29)
08 - 'Swing Fever' (3:12)
09 - 'It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry' (5:17)
10 - 'Truck Stop at the End of the World' (3:14)
11 - 'Mama Hated Diesels' (4:54)
12 - 'Hot Rod Lincoln' (7:51)
13 - 'Talkin' About Chicken' (3:04)


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album