Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image



Artist: Andy Fairweather Low
Label: Proper Records
RRP: £13.99

8 05520 03110 3
Release Date: 16 September 2013

Zone-O-Tone contains twelve new songs written by Andy Fairweather Low that were inspired by the music of Stax and Atlantic soul, The Four Aces, Josef Locke, Johnny Kidd, Lonnie Donegan, The Shadows and many more. Joining Andy is Paul Beavis on drums, Nick Pentelow on saxes and clarinet and long standing associate Dave Bronze on bass...

Zone-O-Tone fuses elements of rock, blues and a light sprinkling of folk music to deliver something that feels both old fashioned and modern. Low is a Welsh singer / songwriter who was a founding member of 1960s Amen Corner. More recently he's toured with Roger Waters, Eric Clapton and Bill Wyman's Rhythm Kings.

The album contains 13 tracks, with a running time of 47 min, 19 sec. Highlights include the '50s rock 'n roll inspired 'Dance On'; the blues based 'Deep River Blues'; the beautiful 'Hard Way to Go'; and 'Mother Earth.'

This is an album that grows on you the more you listen to it. There are so many different styles mixed in here that it's even hard not to enjoy the tongue-in-cheek element of tracks like 'You'll Never Beat the Devil.'


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

iTunes GB
MP3 album