Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Strange Breaks & Mr Thing III


Artist: various
Label: BBE
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 19 May 2014

Has it really been five years since the last installment of Strange Breaks & Mr Thing? How time flies. In this digital age the beating heart of modern R&B and hip hop remains as vintage soul, funk and jazz. Like the previous volumes, Strange Breaks & Mr Thing III contains a collection of killer cutz; some you've probably never heard of, some which may make you go: "I recognize this sample!"… because it was once used as the backdrop for a classic hip hop track.

If you enjoyed the Strange Games compilation series on BBE compiled by the likes of Kenny Dope & DJ Spinna, you'll love Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing. UK Hip-Hop producer and acclaimed DJ; Mr. Thing has been busier than ever circling the globe, filling dance floors as well as adding rare 45s to his ever growing collection now he’s sharing those nuggets with us. Known worldwide as a DJ & turntablist Mr Thing is a name synonymous with Hip-Hop that always brings a smile to the faces of fans and promoters alike as they remember genius performances of impeccable skill. First touching the tables in 1987 he has been non-stop perfecting his art since and is now one of the worlds best.

Touring the world with an understanding of records and music that is second to none, he always creates flawless and exciting sets mixing some of the rarest records with some of the best loved records ever heard with an apparently effortless ease honed after years of practice.

This compilation album doesn't disappoint, from the Woolwich Polytechnic School Concert Band's rendition of The Sweeny TV theme, to Harry Beckett's jazz-based 'Ring Within Rings', this album dips its toes in so many weird and wonderful genres.

This is a funky album that you really shouldn't miss.

Online information on this release is a little confusing. Amazon claim it's a 2 disc collection with 34 tracks, while iTunes claim it's a 20 track collection. The version we received for review included 15 tracks (49 min, 31 sec). From the looks of BBE's website we only received the first disc (Continuous DJ mix by Mr Thing) and not the second disc with 19 tracks (unmixed)

01 - 'Do It Again' - Disco Orchestral
02 - 'Art The Grass' - Dum
03 - 'Romantic Attitude' - John Fitch and Associates
04 - 'Give A Damn' - The Internationals
05 - 'One More Time, You All' - Nu
06 - 'La Da Da' - Dynamic Concept
07 - 'It Sure Is Funky' - Amral's Trinidad Cavaliers
08 - 'Oriental Workload' - James Asher
09 - 'Ozel's Dance Routine' (Mr Thing Re - Edit)
10 - 'Giving Up' - Zulema
11 - 'Ring Within Rings' - Harry Beckett
12 - 'Fire To The Galleon' - Smiling Hard
13 - 'The Sweeny' - Woolwich Polytechnic School Concert Band
14 - 'Close Your Eyes' - The Capprells with the Sul Brothers Band
15 - 'Nature Boy' - Sharon Cash


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album