Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image



Artist: Osunlade
Label: R2 Records
RRP: £13.99
R2CD023 (CD), R2030 (vinyl), R2D023 (digital)
Release Date: 20 May 2014

Atonement is the third installment of the Offering mix CD series by Osunlade. As with Offering and Re-Offering, Atonement sees Osunlade select some more hidden gems that slipped through most other DJs’ radar. As always the tracks are soulful, musical, emotive, yet electronic, modern and sometimes sparse, but always connected to the same spirit...

The sequencing of the tracks on Atonement have been carefully selected so that they flow naturally into one long project. And with this being the case, I probably shouldn't raise my voice to complain that the way the album was presented for review was not the way that those that purchase it will have it presented. For starters it was sent over as one long digital file, making it almost impossible to fathom where one track ends and the next begins. This somewhat spoiled my enjoyment of the album and certainly made it next to impossible to comment on track specifics.

There was an interesting segment (though I can't tell you which track) that incorporates a snippet of Vince Guaraldi's music for A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965) in the background.

The album contains 12 tracks (1 hr, 09 min, 27 sec) and the entire project is quite an enjoyable chill out dance album - the sort of thing you could put on in the background while you get ready for a night out.

Track listing:

01 - Ananda Project - 'Atlanta'
02 - Gerd - 'Palm Leaves' (Mr Fingers Afropsychojungledub Instrumental Mix)
03 - Roaming - 'Believe In Reflecting'
04 - Mr Ho & Florian Blauensteiner - 'Crescendeux' (Roman Rauch 46X17 Remix)
05 - Tomas Svensson - 'Phantom'
06 - Roman Flugel - 'Song With Blue'
07 - Steven Tang - 'Sunspot'
08 - Andrew Soul - 'Disconnected Thoughts'
09 - Jon McMillion - 'Horus House'
10 - Sobz ft Goo J Poet - 'Holy Holy' (A cappella)
11 - Jimpster - 'Towards The Seer'
12 - Prof. Delacroix 'Build Her'


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album