Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Score Soundtrack
Vol. 1


Composer: Jeff Toyne
Label: Eone TV
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 27 May 2014

Eone TV release Jeff Toyne's score for the first season of Rogue, a TV based police drama series starring Thandie Newton and Marton Csokas. Though set in Oakland, California, the series is filmed in Vancouver. A Canadian-British co-production, the series was co-commissioned by DirecTV's Audience Network, and the Canadian premium services The Movie Network and Movie Central...

Jeff Toyne's score for season one of Rogue contains 34 tracks (1 hr, 15 min, 36 sec). It's another one of those scores that no doubt works well in the TV show it is designed for, but can feel a little too much like background music when listened to on its own.

Very few of the tracks have a memorable theme, with exceptions being a small segment in 'Picking Up Max'; 'Jimmy to the Rescue'; 'Hotel Room'; the beautiful 'Dragon'; 'Grace Arrested'; and 'Elegy'.

But don't let that put you off. There are hidden depths here, with slow build tracks like 'Alec Comes Home' paying off with repeat listens. It's a subtle score that won't be to everyone's taste. But, as an atmospheric score to put on in the background to chill out to, this ticks all the right boxes.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

iTunes GB
MP3 album