Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

House of Cards
Season 2
Music from the Netflix Original Series


Composer: Jeff Beal
Label: Varèse Sarabande Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 June 2014

Varèse Sarabande Records release Jeff Beal's score for The House of Cards: Season 2 as a 2-disc set. The show debuted in February of 2013 as Netflix’s first original series, unprecedentedly releasing all 13 episodes of Season One at the same time, generating worldwide attention for the bold new approach to the television model. The second season debuted in February of this year [2014], and it has been picked up for a third season. The show follows House Majority Whip Frank Underwood, a bombastic, power-hungry politician from South Carolina set on conquering Washington D.C. alongside his wife, Claire. When the President decides to pass over Frank for a presumed appointment to Secretary of State, Underwood takes matters into his own hands by using Congress, the media, and corporate boosters as pawns in exacting revenge on those who betrayed him...

Jeff Beal's original music for the second season of House of Cards is released as a 2-disc CD collection through Varèse Sarabande Records. At just under two hours of music, fans are in for a treat.

The album contains 37 tracks (1hr, 55 min, 45 sec) with highlights including 'House Of Cards Main Title Season 2'; 'Grief Demands an Answer' (which is very much in the style of John Barry); 'Heat Wave'; and 'To Be King'.

To be fair though, there's very little in the way of bland tracks here, just lots of quality themes. This is an impressive score whether or not your a fan of the show.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

iTunes GB
MP3 album
MP3 album