Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The C.O.W.L. Sessions


Composer: Joe Clark
Label: Sparks & Shadows
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 28 October 2014

Sparks & Shadows release The C.O.W.L. Sessions, an audio companion to the first five issues of the hit comic book series C.O.W.L., created by Kyle Higgins & Alec Siegel, with art by Rod Reis. The recording features original music by Joe Clark...

The C.O.W.L. Sessions is a bit of a strange release (but a damn fine one) in that it's designed to accompany the first five issues of the comic book series C.O.W.L. This is a jazz-based score that really ups the atmosphere for the comic...

Whether you're a fan of jazz or not, there's much to enjoy here as background music while you flick through the story.

Track listing:

01 - 'Blaze' - Solos: Mark Hiebert, Baritone Sax; Andy Baker, Trombone; Joe Policastro, Bass
02 - 'Chicago' - Featuring Raya Yarbrough, Solos: Pete Benson, Piano; Keith Brooks, Drums; Mark Hiebert, Baritone Saxophone
03 - 'Investigations' - Solos: BJ Cord, Trumpet; Pete Benson, Piano
04 - 'Grey Raven' - Solos: Pete Benson, Piano; Andy Baker, Trombone; Chris Madsen, Alto Saxophone
05 - 'Sparks' - Solos: Chris Madsen, Alto Saxophone; Andy Baker, Trombone; Mark Hiebert, Baritone Saxophone; BJ Cord, Trumpet; Keith Brooks, Drums
06 - 'Radia' - Solos: Mary Jo Neher, French Horn; Chris Madsen, Alto Saxophone
07 - 'The Boss' - Solo: Andy Baker, trombone
08 - 'Wraith' - Solos: Mark Hiebert, Baritone Saxophone; BJ Cord, trumpet; Joe Policastro, bass
09 - 'Chicago (Instrumental)'

All compositions by Joe Clark except: 'Chicago' by Fred Fisher. 


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

MP3 album
iTunes GB
MP3 album
MP3 album