Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Paradise
Season Two

Original Television Soundtrack


Composer: Maurizio Malagnini
Label: Silva Screen Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 14 August 2015

Silva Screen Records release Maurizio Malagnini's score for season two of the television series The Paradise. The music builds on the themes delivered in season one. However, if you strip away the themes that are repeated from season one, you end up with a new album which has less to offer.

Of this score's 23 tracks (53 min, 54 sec) highlights include 'A Letter from Paris'; 'Impossible Love'; and 'Denise Runs To Moray'. I also couldn't help be reminded of Danny Elfman's gothic period on the track 'The House On The Hill'.

This is still an album full of beautiful themes, it's just that it's a poor second cousin to the first album. You might also have an issue tracking down a copy, as both Amazon (UK and USA) and iTunes don't appear to be stocking it.


Darren Rea