Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

The Essential Bellowhead


Artist: Bellowhead
Label: Navigator Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 16 October 2015

To coincide with their recently announced farewell tours, and due to popular demand, Bellowhead will be releasing an album of some of the best loved tracks from the band’s five studio albums: Pandemonium - The Essential Bellowhead includes 13 carefully selected tracks by the 11 band members, designed to represent some of the high points of their 11 year career. Crowd favourite ‘New York Girls’...

Bellowhead is an 11-piece English contemporary folk band. The band's main inspiration is the reworking of traditional dance tunes, folk songs and shanties.

Pandemonium - The Essential Bellowhead is much more than a cheap greatest hits cash in, as the band were instrumental in trawling over their back catalogue in a bid to bring the 13 tracks (50 min, 39 sec) that represents highlights of their career.

A word of warning though. If you don't like folk music based on traditional folk songs and shanties then this probably won't be to your liking.

Those that want to catch one of their farewell tours can do so between November 2015 and May 2016.

Track listing:

01 - 'New York Girls'
02 - '10,000 Miles Away (Radio Edit)'
03 - 'Roll Alabama'
04 - 'Fakenham Fair'
05 - 'Gosport Nancy'
06 - 'Betsy Baker'
07 - 'Let Her Run'
08 - 'Roll the Woodpile Down'
09 - 'Yarmouth Town'
10 - 'Prickle-Eye Bush'
11 - ' Whiskey Is the Life of Man'
12 - 'Cold Blows the Wind'
13 - 'London Town'


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital Download