Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Body of Songs


Artist: Various
Label: Body of Songs
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 27 November 2015

Body of Songs is an interesting music experiment that brings together some of Britain's most talented musicians to create a unique collection of songs, inspired by our inner workings; the organs of the body.

The album contains tracks from Goldie, Ghostpoet, Bat For Lashes, Mara Carlyle & Max De Wardener, Afrikan Boy, Dave Okumu, Scruffizer, Sam Lee & Llywelyn ap Myrddyn, Raf and Andreya Triana.

But this isn't some knocked out collection of songs with a tenuous link. Each artist had access to specialist clinicians and scientists - making observations in the operating theatre, meeting with alternative health experts and patients at varying stages of illness and ogling body parts in special museum collections. The end result saw each artist developing a knowledge and feel for their chosen organ. Making each song a very personal affair with music and lyrics coming from the heart (if you'll pardon the expression).

The end results speak for themselves. This is a beautiful and touching collection that spans various musical genres.

01 - Andreya Triana - “Branches Of Life”
02 - Dave Okumu - “Grateful Heart”
03 - Afrikan Boy ft. Bumi Thomas & Adio - “Eje Aiye”
04 - Sam Lee & Llywelyn Ap Myrydn - “Nose Song”
05 - Ghostpoet - “A Plateful Of Liver”
06 - Mara Carlyle & Max De Wardener - “Follow Me Through”
07 - Scruffizer X Utters - “Play, Pause & Remind”
08 - Bat For Lashes - “Skin Song”
09 - Goldie - “Electric Abyss”
10 - Raf - “Ooh Ah Carolina”


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital Download
iTunes GB
Digital Download