Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The Hollars
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Josh Ritter
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 09 September 2016

Lakeshore Records releases Josh Ritter's score for The Hollars. John Hollar, a struggling NYC artist is forced to navigate the small middle-American town he left behind when news of his mother’s illness brings him home. Back in the house he grew up in, John is immediately swept up in the problems of his dysfunctional family, high school rival, and an over-eager ex-girlfriend as he faces impending fatherhood with his girlfriend in New York...

In all honesty, I don't think this score will appeal to you unless you've seen the movie, and even then it's questionable if you'll embrace it. The problem, for me, was that it was a little too twee, a little too cliched and a little too dull.

The soundtrack contains 11 tracks (53 min, 13 sec), and as well as Josh Ritter's score it also contains the songs 'Man On Fire' performed by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros; The Indigo Girls's 'Closer To Fine'; and Billy Bragg & Wilco performing 'Airline To Heaven'.

For the movie it's probably perfect, but listened to on its own merits it falls a little flat.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album