Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Compulsion Songs


Artist: The Lucid Dream
Label: Holy You Are Recordings
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 23 September 2016

Compulsion Songs is the third album from Carlisle's The Lucid Dream. This latest release sees the band venturing into pastures new again. Recorded at Whitewood Studios, Liverpool, with Rob Whiteley, the album is produced alongside long-time collaborator Ross Halden.

It's a totally different kettle of fish to their previous albums, Songs of Lies & Deceit and The Lucid Dream,

The LP opens with the single 'Bad Texan' (which was originally released on 12" vinyl earlier in the year) and sees the band experimenting with a fusion of dance floor meets Krautrock. The Krautrock/kosmiche groove is also present alongside new-wave in the 2-part opus 'Nadir'/'Epitaph', which closes the album.

'21st Century' won't be everyone's cup of tea. it opens with punky overtones and incorporates a 2-minute white noise/garage/rockabilly blast, inspired by the Beastie Boys.

The album contains 7 tracks (44 min, 05 sec) and it's diverse and interesting enough to make it worth your while at least checking out. It might be your thing.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album