Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Capsule: 1999-2016


Artist: The Faint
Label: Saddle Creek
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 30 September 2016

Seventeen years ago, The Faint ushered in the return of synthesizers to the modern musical landscape with the release of 1999’s Blank-Wave Arcade. The world took note and the dance-rock movement of the early 2000’s followed in its wake. In the ensuing years, the band’s consistent evolution cemented their status as one of the most forward thinking and influential forces in dance-rock. Capsule: 1999-2016 surveys The Faint’s most renowned output over that time span, while also taking a look at while the future holds for the acclaimed Omaha electro-punks.

Seventeen tracks from that era are included in this retrospective with contributions Blank-Wave Arcade, Danse Macabre, Wet From Birth, Fasciinatiion, Doom Abuse and 2016’s 'Young & Realistic' single as well as two brand new songs 'Skylab1979' and 'ESP'.

Of this album's 19 tracks (1 hr, 09 min, 27 sec) personal highlights include 'Evil Voices', and 'Damage Control', while 'Posed to Death' brought to mind the music of Spandau Ballet, in particular their 1982 album Diamond.

It's an interesting look back over the synth dance scene as seen through the eyes of Faint.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album