Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Music from the Motion Picture


Composer: Alan Silvestri
Label: Sony Classical
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 18 November 2016

Sony Classical release Alan Silvestri's score for Allied. The movie tells the story of intelligence officer Max Vatan, who in 1942 North Africa encounters French Resistance fighter Marianne Beauséjour on a deadly mission behind enemy lines. Reunited in London, their relationship is threatened by the extreme pressures of the war...

I know Alan Silvestri has composed some incredible scores over the years, but for me he'll always be fondly known for his wonderful music for the Back the Future trilogy. So, listening to this score brought a smile to my face on a number of occasions (most notably on 'The Letter / End Credits') as there were little nods here and there - very fleetingly - to his work on Back to the Future.

Like his recent work on The Walk, Silvestri is still at the top of his game, delivering beautiful, emotive scores that help to add another dimension to the onscreen action.

The album contains 13 tracks (42 min, 28 sec). Of these, 8 tracks (27 min, 46 sec) are from Silvestri's orchestral score, while the remaining 5 tracks (14 min, 42 sec) are made up of various jazz dance tracks from the period the movie is set. It's a shame as I'd really have loved to have heard more of Silvestri's work for the movie. But then, maybe that's all there was.

A short, but very sweet, Silvestri score padded out with some interesting period music.

Track listing:

01. Essaouira Desert/Main Title - Alan Silvestri
02. “What Are Our Odds?” - Alan Silvestri
03. German Embassy - Alan Silvestri
04. “It’s A Girl” - Alan Silvestri
05. Trust - Alan Silvestri
06. “Best Day Ever” - Alan Silvestri
07. Confession/Escape - Alan Silvestri
08. The Letter/End Credit - Alan Silvestri
09. The Sheik of Araby - Ted Snyder, Harry B. Smith & Francis Wheeler / Arranged by Alan Silvestri
10. You Are My Lucky Star - Nacio Brown & Arthur Freed
11. J’Attendrai - Rosanna D’Agnillo, Dino Olivieri, Louis Poterat & Giuseppe Rastelli
12. Sing Sing Sing - Louis Prima
13. Flying Home - Benny Goodman & Lionel Hampton


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
Digital album