Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Mozart in the Jungle
Season 3 Original Soundtrack


Label: Sony Classical
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 09 December 2016

Sony Classical release the soundtrack for the third season of Mozart in the Jungle. The album features original performances by soprano Ana María Martínez and classical artists including Joshua Bell, Plácido Domingo, and Yo-Yo Ma. Mozart in the Jungle is a half-hour comedic drama based on the critically acclaimed memoir Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs & Classical Music by Blair Tindall. The series draws back the curtain on the world of music, where artistic dedication and creativity collide with mind games, politicking and survival instincts...

The soundtrack for the third season of Mozart in the Jungle is packed with beautiful classical music, some of which has been recorded especially for the show.

Personally I really enjoyed this - but if you're not a fan of classical / opera then there's little you'll find to embrace here. Fans of the show will find this to be a lovingly crafted musical souvenir of the third season. The soundtrack contains 12 tracks (52 min, 56 sec).

Track listing

01) 'Les Filles des Cadix' (L. Delibes) - Performed by Ana María Martínez/Steven Mercurio/ Prague Philharmonia
02) 'Die Zauberflöte, K. 620, "Pa-Pa-Pa-Papagena!”' (W. A. Mozart) - Performed by Ileana Cotrubas/Christian Boesch/James Levine/Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
03) 'Slavonic Dances, Op. 72, No. 2 in E minor (Allegretto grazioso)' (A. Dvořák) - Performed by George Szell/ The Cleveland Orchestra
04) *'Impromptu (Thomas's piece)' (M. Mazzoli) - Performed by Joshua Bell/ The Kaprálová Orchestra
05) *'Don Giovanni, K. 527: “Là ci darem la mano”' (W. A. Mozart) - Performed by Plácido Domingo/Ana María Martínez/Alyssa Park, Violin/Shalini Vijayan, Violin/ Luke Maurer, Viola/Jacob Braun, Cello
06) *'Die Junge Nonne, D. 828' (F. Schubert) - Performed by Ana María Martínez/Noah Lindquist
07) 'Fidelio, Op. 72: March from Act 1' (L. v. Beethoven) - Performed by Sir Colin Davis/ BR Symphonieorchester
08) 'Concerto in C major, K. 314 (285d), Allegro aperto' (W. A. Mozart) - Performed by François Leleux/Camerata Salzburg
09) 'A lenda do caboclo' (H. Villa-Lobos) - Performed by Yo-Yo Ma/Odair Assad/ Sergio Assad
10) *'Amy Fisher' (N. Muhly) - Performed by Ana María Martínez/Nico Muhly
11) *'Carmen: Chanson bohème' (G. Bizet) – Explicit Content Performed by Ana María Martínez/Orchestra Regionale Filarmonía Veneta
12) 'Symphony No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 82 Allegro Molto' (J. Sibelius) - Performed by Adrian Leaper/Orchestra Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria

Bonus Track: (digital product only)
13) *'Welcome to Earth' (Bonus Track) (Ryan Lott) - Explicit Content Performed by Son Lux

*New recording


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album