Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image



Artist: Lowly
Label: Bella Union
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 10 February 2017

Danish quintet, Lowly, release their debut LP, Heba, through Bella Union. It opens with the hypnotic 'Still' Life', setting the scene for what is to come.

The album contains 11 songs (40 min, 40 sec), with personal highlights including 'Still Life'; 'Deer Eyes'; 'Stubborn Day'; and 'Word'.

At the half way mark, 'Prepare the Lake' is the band's oldest track, a song they've been playing for quite some time. The lyrics are inspired by Gertrude Stein’s poetry.

The album is comprised of trippy, free flowing indie pop tracks that are easily digestible and instantly accessible. Heba represents an interesting and diverse collection of songs that is well worth spending a little time with.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album