Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Windy City


Artist: Alison Krauss
Label: Decca / Capitol
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 03 March 2017

Alison Krauss, 27-time Grammy Award winner, returns with a brand new album, her first solo project in 17 years. Windy City finds Krauss performing 10 classic songs carefully selected with producer Buddy Cannon...

Some of the songs on Windy City you'll instantly recognise, others you may not know, or not be overly familiar with. How ever you come to Alison Krauss's new album, one thing you can be sure of, Krauss manages to own all the songs here - which is no mean feat when original artists include Willie Nelson and Brenda Lee.

Despite how very different the songs are, and how they were recorded in different eras, it's impressive to see Krauss put her stamp on all of them, to the point where if you hadn't heard the tracks before you could easily be forgiven for thinking this was a Greatest Hits collection of her songs.

It's a wonderfully presented collection of songs which should appeal to not only Krauss's fan base, but also Country fans in general.

Track listing:

01. Losing You – Written by Pierre Havet, Jean Renard and Carl Sigman. Originally recorded by Brenda Lee for her 1963 album Let Me Sing.

02. It’s Goodbye And So Long To You (background vocals by Dan Tyminski and Hank Williams Jr.) – Written by Raymond Couture and Harold J. Breau in 1952. Originally recorded by The Osborne Brothers with Mac Wiseman, it appears on their 1979 collection The Essential Bluegrass Album.

03. Windy City (background vocals by Suzanne Cox and Jamey Johnson) – Written by Pete Goble and Bobby Osborne. Originally recorded by The Osborne Brothers for their 1972 album Bobby and Sonny.

04. I Never Cared For You (background vocals by Suzanne Cox and Sidney Cox) – Written and originally recorded by Willie Nelson in 1964 as a single for Monument Records.

05. River In The Rain – Written by Roger Miller for the 1985 Broadway musical Big River: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

06. Dream Of Me (background vocals by Buddy Cannon and Melonie Cannon) – Written by Buddy Cannon, Jimmy Darrell & Raleigh Squires. Was a top 10 single on Vern Gosdin’s 1981 album Today My World Slipped Away. Alison originally heard the song performed live by Jim & Jesse McReynold’s in the early '80s.

07. Gentle On My Mind (background vocals by Teddy Gentry and Suzanne Cox) – Written and recorded by John Hartford for his 1967 album Earthwords & Music. It was popularised by Glen Campbell as the title track of his GRAMMY Award-winning 1967 Capitol Records album.

08. All Alone Am I – Originally written by Greek composer Manos Hadjidakis for the film The Island of the Brave, the song was later given English lyrics by Arthur Altman and popularised by Brenda Lee as the title track of her 1962 album.

09. Poison Love (background vocals by Dan Tyminski and Jamey Johnson) – Written by Elmer Laird. Originally recorded by Bill Monroe as the b-side to his ‘On the Old Kentucky Shore’ single released in 1951.

10. You Don’t Know Me – Written by Cindy Walker & Eddy Arnold. Originally recorded by Arnold in 1955 as a single, it was later popularised by Ray Charles on his 1962 album Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album