Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Free Fire
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composers: Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
Artists: The Real Kids, Creedence Clearwater Revival and John Denver
Label: Lakeshore Records / Invada Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 31 March 2017

Lakeshore Records, in conjunction with Invada Records, release the Free Fire original motion picture soundtrack. The album features songs from The Real Kids, Creedence Clearwater Revival and two classic tracks by John Denver, plus original score by Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury...

The soundtrack release of Free Fire reminds me of the days, back in the '80s, when movie soundtracks were just tentatively being unveiled to a wider audience. A lot of the labels back then didn't really know what to do with them and, in a bid to gain as wider audience as possible, for some unfathomable reason, insisted on including large chunks of dialogue from the movie.

These releases always annoyed me. I was buying soundtracks because I wanted to hear the music from the film without the dialogue. Thankfully, over the years, labels have done away with this practice. So, I was surprised to discover that the soundtrack to Free Fire contains a lot of dialogue from the film. And, unforgivably in places, it even plays over the music.

Now to be fair it almost acts as an audio souvenir of the movie and if that's your thing then you'll love this. In addition, on the whole, Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury's score is pretty forgettable (with the possible exception of 'The Phone Rings'.

This is only really going to appeal to diehard fans of the movie who want to hear soundbytes laid over the top of the score. Also, it was nice to hear a bit of John Denver again...

The album contains 41 tracks (50 mins, 57 sec)

Track listing:

01. Where We Going? - Free Fire Cast
02. Do The Boob - The Real Kids
03. I'm I.I.F.M - Free Fire Cast
04. Sledgehammer Cracks Nut - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
05. This Is Ord - Free Fire Cast
06. Docks Beat - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
07. Step Into My Office - Free Fire Cast
08. Run Through the Jungle - Creedence Clearwater Revival
09. Raw Onions - Free Fire Cast
10. Vern - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
11. Come Out - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
12. Gorgeous as Ever - Free Fire Cast
13. Money Count - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
14. Nice Teeth - Free Fire Cast
15. Harlequins Reunion - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
16. Steven's Been Reprimanded - Free Fire Cast
17. Stevo Apologises - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
18. Suck On This - Free Fire Cast
19. First Shot - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
20. Mostly The Suit - Free Fire Cast
21. Martin Shot - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
22. Will Everybody Calm the Fuck Down - Free Fire Cast
23. Snipers - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
24. Good to Go - Free Fire Cast
25. Free Firing Gunshot Solo - Free Fire Cast
26. The Phone Rings - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
27. Watch and Vern - Free Fire Cast
28. Crawl Chase - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
29. So That's What a Fucking Brain Looks Like - Free Fire Cast
30. Lead Lobotomy - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
31. Poke Him in The Eye - Free Fire Cast
32. We Can't All Be Nice Girls - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
33. That's Why I Appreciate the Arts - Free Fire Cast
34. Leary - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
35. Aiming for The Nose - Free Fire Cast
36. Oh Fuck - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
37. Where Do You Think You're Going Little Harry - Free Fire Cast
38. Annie's Song - John Denver
39. A John Denver Story - Free Fire Cast
40. Justine's Theme - Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury
41. This Old Guitar - John Denver


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album