Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Charles Scott IV
Songs performed by: Thugli, Julien Jabre feat. Kid Ikarus, Amir Says Nothing and Kid Ikarus
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 28 April 2017

Charles Scott IV's score for Sleight is released through Lakeshore Records. It also contains songs by Thugli, Julien Jabre feat. Kid Ikarus, Amir Says Nothing, Kid Ikarus. The film revolves around a young street magician who is left to care for his little sister after their parents passing and turns to illegal activities to keep a roof over their heads. When he gets in too deep, his sister is kidnapped and he is forced to use his magic and brilliant mind to save her...

Sleight marks the debut feature score for Charles Scott IV, who serves as in-house music supervisor/producer/songwriter at Bad Robot Productions. He has contributed to many of their feature & television projects including Fringe, Star Trek Into Darkness, and 10 Cloverfield Lane.

Considering this is his debut feature score, Charles Scott IV turns in an interesting, modern collection of themes. There's atmospheric background material (if tracks like 'Chop Chop' as well as intricate, subtle themes 'Escape', but if mellow, modern, chilled out scores are your thing then you'll get a lot of enjoyment out of what he produces here.

Of this soundtrack's 28 tracks (1 hr, 07 min, 01 sec) '(re)turn' is probably this album's one stand out track. It has a catchy and memorable main theme. Personally, I could have done without the various artists tracks, but these can be skipped.

While this is only really one for fans of the movie, there's just enough diversity here in Charles Scott IV's score to make it of passing interesting for lovers of modern scores too.

Track listing:

01. Welcome Home - Charles Scott IV
02. Mind Trick - Charles Scott IV
03. Rex I - Charles Scott IV
04. Get me Out of Here - Charles Scott IV
05. Listen ReUP - Thugli
06. Stick Up - Amir Says Nothing
07. No Limits - Charles Scott IV
08. Chop Chop - Charles Scott IV
09. SOG - Amir Says Nothing
10. Go To Sleep - Charles Scott IV
11. Two Keys - Charles Scott IV
12. Rex II - Charles Scott IV
13. Lucky 13 - Charles Scott IV
14. Run This (Instrumental) - Thugli
15. FLIP - Kid Ikarus
16. Rex Fin - Charles Scott IV
17. Swaying / Tumblers - Julien Jabre feat. Kid Ikarus
18. WWHN - Kid Ikarus
19. Die Alone - Kid Ikarus
20. Escape - Charles Scott IV
21. You Gotta Watch - Charles Scott IV
22. After School Special - Charles Scott IV
23. Research - Charles Scott IV
24. Maximum Oscillation - Charles Scott IV
25. (re)united - Charles Scott IV
26. San Diego / Improvements - Charles Scott IV
27. (re)turn - Charles Scott IV
28. Mark IV - Georgi Kay


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album