Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Journey to the Mountain of Forever


Artist: Binker and Moses
Label: Gearbox Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 02 June 2017

Binker Golding and Moses Boyd are a semi-free jazz saxophone and drums duo. They are part of a loose yet interconnected group of London-based jazz musicians that are influenced by the music that surrounds them, including grime, hip-hop and electronica as well as jazz. Journey to the Mountain of Forever is Binker and Moses new album...

Modern Jazz fans will love what Binker and Moses deliver with their new album Journey to the Mountain of Forever.

The LP is a two record set (15 songs - 1 hr, 21 min, 18 sec): the first disc features the duo on their own, while on the second they are joined by the great UK free jazz saxophonist Evan Parker, trumpeter Byron Wallen, harpist Tori Handsley, tabla player Sarathy Korwar and drummer Yussef Dayes.

There's a good mix of styles and themes to make this an interesting collection for Jazz fans. In addition they're opening up the genre to those that might not necessarily be a fan of Jazz, and that can only be a good thing.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album