Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

The House
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composers: Andrew Feltenstein and John Nau
Artists: Various
Label: Varèse Sarabande
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 30 June 2017

Varèse Sarabande release The House: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. The album features the original music composed by Andrew Feltenstein and John Nau, including four songs written by Feltenstein and Nau performed by Crown and the M.O.B., the previously unavailable Sam Wilkes Remix of LL Cool J’s 'Mama Said Knock You Out' and the original track 'Kids In The Hood' performed by The M.O.B. featuring Chali 2NA (of Jurassic 5). After Scott and Kate Johansen lose their daughter Alex’s college fund, they become desperate to earn it back so she can pursue her dream of attending a university. With the help of their neighbour Frank, they decide to start an illegal casino in his house...

Very rarely am I a fan of Various Artists movie soundtracks. The main reason is that I'll only really enjoy a handful of tracks and it's actually cheaper to buy those singles individually online.

The House, on the other hand, is a totally different matter. There's enough diversity over the 13 tracks (38 min, 06 sec) to make it an interesting album to play from start to finish. I'm also not normally a fan of Rap, but there's something about these songs that just lodge in your head. 'Mama Said Knock You Out (Sam Wilkes Remix)' is hard not to love.

This is a soundtrack that's not just for fans of the movie, there's enough quality material to ensure that everyone gets funky!

Track listing:

01. Love My People (Original Version) – Crown and the M.O.B.
02. We Just Came To Party – Crown and the M.O.B. featuring André Winn Jr p/k/a Graze
03. Sam Huff’s Flying Raging Machine – Lettuce
04. Mama Said Knock You Out (Sam Wilkes Remix) – LL Cool J
05. Spanking Out Horns – Crown and the M.O.B.
06. Kids In The Hood – The M.O.B. featuring Chali 2NA
07. Kodiac Jam (Grain Zero Remix) – Mash & Munkee (David Hanke and Kolja Starkowski)
08. Gz And Hustlas – Snoop Doggy Dogg
09. Save My Job – Andrew Feltenstein and John Nau
10. Woke Up This Morning (The Sopranos Mix) – Alabama 3
11. The Moment – X5’s
12. Gathering The Players – Andrew Feltenstein and John Nau
13. Love My People (Remix) – Crown and the M.O.B. and DJ Dave Aude


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

iTunes GB
Digital album