Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

It's Time


Artist: Thee Gobbs
Label: Atjazz Records Company
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 30 June 2017

From his beginnings as a Sound Engineer at the Jazzworx studios, via his two releases on Atjazz Record Company, 'The Love' and 'Like a Drum', Thee Gobbs has announced himself to an international audience and now this young South African prodigy is finally ready to release his debut album: It’s Time...

Opening with his debut smash ‘The Love’, and incorporating 'Like a Drum' we are taken on a ride that covers every aspect of Thee Gobbs’s emerging sound. Dripping with smooth South African soul, the album adds in tastes of inventive jazz to offer an interesting Dance album.

The album contains 21 tracks (2 hr, 30 min, 38 sec) and it's very much a timeless LP. This could have been released 20 years ago, or sometime in the near future. It's a chillout Dance album that borders on Ambient.

There's much to enjoy here, including the fact that we're given various takes on several of the tracks. It's always interesting to hear another mix of a song you like. In addition, any album that has a xylophone instrumental break ('Decisions (feat. TeePee)') has to be worth giving a chance

Track listing:

01. The Love (feat. Tsholo)
02. Decisions (feat. TeePee)
03. This Ice (feat. RJ Benjamin)
04. Wild & Free (feat. Nolly Nolz)
05. Like A Drum (feat. Merdly B)
06. Sacrifice (feat. Tsholo)
07. Time To Rise (feat. Kabomo)
08. U Know It (feat. Afro’traction & Moneoa)
09. Make Up Sax (feat. Bantu Soul)
10. Glad U’r Alive (feat. Gomolemo)
11. Can’t Go Wrong (feat. Tebz)
12. A Musical Journey
13. Like A Drum (feat. Merldy B) [Fish Go Deep Vocal Mix]
14. Like A Drum (feat. Merldy B) [Fish Go Deep Dub]
15. Like A Drum (feat. Merldy B) [TrueSelf Remix]
16. The Love (feat. Tsholo) [ Atjazz Floor Dub]
17. Time To Rise (feat. Kabomo) [Rocco Dub Mix]
18. Time To Rise (feat. Kabomo) [Sean McCabe Remix]
19. U Know It (feat. Afro'traction & Moneoa) [Deep Xcape Remix]
20. Know It (feat. Afro'traction & Moneoa) [Eltonnick Remix]
21. U Know It (feat. Afro'traction & Moneoa) [SK95 & Rampage Broken Mix]


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album