Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Dark Net
Music from the Showtime Series


Composer: Justin Melland
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 08 September 2017

Lakeshore Records release Justin Melland's score for Dark Net. Advancements in technology have made it possible for us to connect in the most astonishing ways. A documentary series that explores the furthest reaches of the internet and the people who frequent it, Dark Net provides a revealing and cautionary look inside a vast cyber netherworld rarely witnessed by most of us. Provocative, thought-provoking and frequently profound, each episode illuminates an exciting, ever-expanding frontier where people can do anything and see anything, whether they should or not...

Justin Melland delivers an interesting enough score, but it's not one that works particularly well outside the medium it's composed for.

Over the course of this album's 45 tracks (1 hr, 01 min, 06 sec) the only ones that are noteworthy are the hauntingly beautiful 'For How Long'; the strangely hypnotic 'My Dreams are Neon'; and 'It's Over'.

It's a functional collection of music cues what were never really designed to be listened to on their own merits.

Fans of synth suspense music will no doubt find this entertaining, but it's not an album I'd want to listen to very often.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album