Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Golden Calf


Artist: Small Leaks Sink Ships
Label: Lefse Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 13 October 2017

Small Leaks Sink Ships is a four piece progressive art pop band currently residing in Portland, OR. Members consist of London Van Rooy, Judd Hancock, Jim Mandel, and Ryan Garner. The band merges synthetic samples and beats from scratch with the raw power of Acoustic instruments lead by a duo of distinct vocalists creating an eclectic and unique sound. Golden Calf is their new album...

How best to describe Small Leaks Sink Ships to those who haven't heard their sound? Hmm, that's a tricky one. Vocally I was reminded of James on a couple of tracks, but stylistically they're hard to pin down. And that's either their greatest strength, or major weakness, depending on your point of view.

I have to admit that while I welcomed a break from listening to the normal formulaic indie releases that drop into my inbox, I also never really felt like I got to know either their music or their personality as a band, despite listening to it on and off for several weeks.

The album is comprised of 9 songs (40 min, 44 sec) and it's one for those looking for something a little different to spice up their music collection.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album