Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image



Artist: Lost Horizons
Label: Bella Union
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 03 November 2017

Currently celebrating 20 years piloting his record label Bella Union, Simon Raymonde has also started a new collaboration with drummer Richie Thomas. Going under the moniker Lost Horizons the debut release their debut album, Ojalá. The release also incorporates a number of guest singers. Some are signed to Bella Union, such as Marissa Nadler, former Midlake frontman Tim Smith, Cameron Neal (Horse Thief), others are long-time favourites of Raymonde’s (Leila Moss of The Duke Spirit and Ghostpoet), or newer discoveries (Beth Cannon, Hilang Child, Gemma Dunleavy and Phil McDonnell). And then there is the incomparable Karen Peris of The Innocence Mission, one of Raymonde’s most beloved artists, in her first collaboration outside of The Innocence Mission and solo recordings...

Lost Horizons's Ojalá is yet another release that defies being pigeonholed - and it's all the more stronger for it. Simon Raymonde was bassist of Cocteau Twins and there's a little of their vibe running through this album.

The LP contains 15 songs (1 hr, 10 min, 06 sec) and opens on a strong note with 'Bones', featuring the truly outstanding vocals of Cannon). Other highlights include the dreamy 'Amber' and the almost lazy, effortless 'Reckless' (featuring Ghostpoet).

The material is strong enough to stamp Lost Horizon's identity all over it. Even though there are numerous and varied artist performances it still feels like a carefully constructed and organised joined up release.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album