Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Self Portrait


Artist: Mr Yolk
Label: Southend Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 10 November 2017

Mr Yolk release their debut album, Self Portrait, via Southend Records. Mr Yolk is the project of 22-year-old designer and songwriter Samuel Jones accompanied by band mates Enzo Lauvergne, Charlie Carmichael, Antoine Jauneau and Rich Chapman. Jones previously honed his songwriting talents in Velvet Morning and Rocket Ship TV...

Self Portrait is a pretty impressive debut album. It's a stripped back affair that rather than hiding behind heavily edited production values offers a more natural, honest sound. The results speak for themselves as the album's 11 songs (35 min, 55 sec) plod along in a fluid and easily digestible pace.

This is an album that you'll be intrigued from right from the first play through, but it's only on subsequent listens that you start to get to know both the album and the heart of the band.

This is a laid back LP which will wash over you. As debut's go, they don't come more impressive than this.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album