Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Fake Nudes


Artist: Barenaked Ladies
Label: UMC
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 November 2017

With over 14 million albums sold, multiple JUNO Awards and Grammy nominations, world renowned rockers Barenaked Ladies (BNL) release their fifteenth studio album Fake Nudes. The new album features fourteen freshly minted tracks including the catchy 'Lookin’ Up' written by BNL frontman Ed Robertson, Kevin Griffin (Better Than Ezra) and Sam Hollander (who has co-written with Weezer, Fitz & The Tantrums and Train), and 'Bringing it Home',written by Ed Robertson and Kevin Griffin...

For fans of BNL, Fake Nudes won't disappoint. These 14 songs (48 min, 56 sec) are diverse enough to ensure that there's something here to appeal to everyone. For me, there were tracks that were instantly accessible, while others became favourites the more times I listened to them.

From the first play through I loved 'Canada Dry'; 'Bringing it Home'; the pop-esque 'Lookin' Up'; and 'Sunshine'. But after a few plays I grew to appreciate the multi-layered 'Dusty Rooms'; 'We Took the Night'; 'You + Me Vs The World'; and the Folksy 'The Township Of King'.

This is a fresh and upbeat album which doesn't disappoint.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album