Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Intent to Destroy
Original Score


Composer: Serj Tankian
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 November 2017

Lakeshore Records release Serj Tankian's score for Intent to Destroy. The movie is a powerful and poignant film that dissects genocide denialism. It outlines the century old denial campaign of the Armenian Genocide by the Turkish government and brings it into the current age of disinformation and scare tactics...

Serj Tankian delivers a powerful and moving score for Intent to Destroy, but given the movie's subject matter this is hardly a surprise. It opens with 'Massacre (Extended Length Bonus)' which sets the tone for the music to come.

This album is packed full of emotionally charged, melancholic themes, consisting of 25 tracks (1 hr, 13 min, 33 sec).

However, after a while the tracks all start to sound the same. From track to track there's little in the way of real variety, so it all boils down to whether you're a fan of this style of compositions. While I, personally am, I couldn't help feeling a little more variety would have helped.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album