Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composers: Waveshaper and Robert Parker
Artists: Various
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 26 January 2018

Lakeshore Records release the original soundtrack to Videoman. The movie follows a VHS collector with a drinking problem who finds a valuable movie that could save him from eviction. When the movie gets stolen he starts a desperate hunt for a perpetrator. An alcoholic woman obsessed with the '80s is a victim of work place bullying and struggles to develop a relationship with her grown up daughter. These outsiders joined by nostalgia and broken dreams starts a romance and make each other self aware, a step in the right direction when trying to solve their respective problems...

I was never a fan of scores like this in the '80s, so I was pleasantly surprised to discover that I really enjoyed Waveshaper and Robert Parker's music for Videoman. It's designed to bring forth images of '80s independent cinema, which it does beautifully, but it manages to repackages the atmosphere for a more modern audience.

Waveshaper, for those not already in the know, is a Swedish electronic music artist inspired by the soundtrack scene of the 80s early 90s. His sound is cinematic and melodic with a modern mix that brings to mind the French House scene. He grew up spending a lot of time on Atari/Amiga and video games that clearly is represented in his tracks.

The various artists tracks are also of interest in that they do exactly as you'll be expecting - giving off that unmistakable '80s vibe.

Yes, it's a little cheesy. Yes, it's very corny... But for some reason I really loved what Waveshaper and Robert Parker delivered here.

Track listing:

01. Prologue - Waveshaper
02. Videoman - Waveshaper
03. Office - Robert Parker
04. Simone’s Theme - Robert Parker
05. VHS Passion - Waveshaper
06. Faceless - Waveshaper
07. Ennio’s Theme - Waveshaper
08. Stolen Tape - Waveshaper
09. Love On Ice - Johan Agebjörn feat. Ryan Paris & Sally Shapiro
10. Drift Apart - Robert Parker
11. Love Frontier - Main
12. Blue Motorbike - Moto Boy
13. Push & Pull - Sveinung Nygaard feat. Niki Yrla
14. Burglary - Waveshaper
15. Franco’s Den - Waveshaper
16. Confrontation - Waveshaper
17. Have You Ever Been In Love? - Johan Agebjörn feat. Tom Hooker
18. Anyone There? - Waveshaper
19. A Sense Of Loss - Robert Parker
20. A Love Gone - Robert Parker
21. Hunted - Waveshaper
22. Demise (Instrumental) - Robert Parker
23. Demise - Robert Parker feat. Femmepop


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album