Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

In Transit


Artist: The Amazing
Label: Partisan Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 06 April 2018

Partisan Records release In Transit, the new album from The Amazing. The band came together a few years after Christoffer Gunrup's former group, Granada (a renowned Scandinavian pop duo formed with his ex-wife), broke up and he asked Dungen's guitarist and former drummer (Reine Fiske and Fredrik Björling) to join him onstage. After a few personal shifts, the line-up settled down with Fiske on guitar; Fredrik Swahn on guitar and keys; bass player Alexis Benson and drummer Moussa Fadera. The band's previous four albums have garnered a loyal following and critical acclaim, landing them on Letterman and on a world tour with Tame Impala...

Following on from 2016's Ambulance, The Amazing's new LP, In Transit, was one that I enjoyed right from the first time I played it. The diversity of songs on display is key here. While the band has a penchant for dark, moody, melancholic songs, each is delivered in a different way.

As a whole, the album has a retro sound, drawing influences from the '80s and '90s but delivering them in a fresh and more modern style. Songs like 'Voice Sound' are hypnotic and mildly haunting, whilst offerings like 'First Touch of Light' are instantly memorable, containing catchy guitar riffs.

The album contains 11 songs (1 hr, 09 min, 57 sec) and once again The Amazing prove that they are just that: Amazing.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album