Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Symphony for Our World
National Geographic Original Soundtrack


Composers: Austin Fray and Andrew Christie
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 20 April 2018

Lakeshore Records release a soundtrack album of the original music created for Nat Geo WILD’s Earth Day television event Symphony for Our World. The hour-long special combines National Geographic natural history footage with an original symphony and theme created by Emmy- and BAFTA-nominated Bleeding Fingers Music composers Austin Fray and Andrew Christie, and a special musical collaboration with X Ambassadors, bringing viewers on a breathtaking musical journey through some of the world’s most incredible wildlife spectacles...

Driven by a five-part composition, Symphony for Our World pairs artistry with science as it brings viewers on a journey through five different ecosystems – sea, shore, land, mountains and sky. Each environment being accompanied by a different chapter of the composition, resulting in a powerful musical tribute to the beauty and wonders of our wild world.

The score contains 43 tracks (59 min, 58 sec) and, as you'd expect given the focus of the series, it contains plenty of engaging and emotive themes.

Tracks like 'Sea Of Rays' brought to mind Danny Elfman's work on Edward Scissorhands, while 'Symphony For The Sky' and 'Hummingbirds' sounded very similar to Rob Simonson's score for The Age of Adaline.

It's an impressive soundtrack, rich in quality content. If you're a fan of epic scores which also house beautiful, subtle themes, you'll totally love this album.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album