Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Jack of All Trades


Artist: Lack of Afro
Label: LOA Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 18 May 2018

Multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer Adam Gibbons (aka Lack of Afro) has releases his sixth studio record, Jack of All Trades, a multi-genre tour de force that combines soul, funk, hip-hop, disco, rock. Regular collaborator Elliott Cole, Nick Corbin (formally of New Street Adventure), ex I Am Giant vocalist Ed Martin, Wax & Herbal T, Alyssa Marie, Camila Recchio, Juliette Ashby & Emma Noble are all present and correct...

Never one to be pigeonholed, Lack of Afro returns with another bout of funky, catchy tunes. Jack of All Trades contains 11 songs (37 min, 14 sec) and takes in classic soul (‘Back To The Day’, ‘Reach Out’), hip-hop (‘Back In Business’, ‘Take It Up A Notch’), disco (‘Only You & Me’), rock (‘Over & Out’), modern soul (‘Baby Be Mine’), folk (‘Home’) and a healthy dose of funk (‘The Messin’ Around Intermission‘, ‘Good Love’).

It's one of those rare gems that will mean different things to you at different times. You can pretty much guarantee that the songs that you start off loving will shift and change the more times you listen to them. The diversity of genres is key here, meaning that there's pretty much something for every mood and every occasion. This is a summer road trip collection which you'll get much pleasure out of.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album