Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Play it Again, Marvin!
A Marvin Hamlisch Celebration


Composer: Marvin Hamlisch
Conductor: J. Ernest Green
Performed by: Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra, Sylvia McNair, Judy Harrison and Doug LaBrecque
Label: Varèse Sarabande
RRP: £12.99
0 30206 75828 3
Release Date: 25 May 2018

Varèse Sarabande release an orchestral celebration of Marvin Hamlisch’s greatest compositions performed by the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra, conducted by J. Ernest Green...

Play it Again, Marvin!: A Marvin Hamlisch Celebration is a collection of the most beloved songs of PEGOT- winning (Pulitzer Prize®, EMMY®, Grammy®, Oscar®, Tony®) composer Marvin Hamlisch. This compilation is a celebration of one of the most important voices of the modern musical era focusing on the life and legacy of Broadway’s legendary composer, who over the course of his career earned three Oscars, four Grammys, four Emmys, a Tony, three Golden Globe awards, and the Pulitzer Prize.

Play It Again, Marvin!, the concert, first premiered in 2014 with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and then in 2015 with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. The show was revised and performed by The Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of J. Ernest Green.

For Musical and Soundtrack fans, the name Marvin Hamlisch will mean different things and conjure up various images. Even if the name's not familiar, his music certainly will be.

Performances on this album that will be familiar include movie hits 'Nobody Does it Better' (from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977); 'The Entertainer' from The Sting (1973); and the suite from Sophie's Choice (1982). There there's his broadway work on such classics as A Chorus Line.

There's a great mix of musical styles here, all of which are presented very differently. I think it's pretty fair to say that this album does shine the spotlight on the highlights of Hamlisch's career, delivering something for everyone.

Track listing:

01 - The Way We Were
02 - A Chorus Line Concerto
03 - Dreamers [feat. Sylvia McNair]
04 - Sunshine, Lollipops And Rainbows [feat. Kevin Cole]
05 - The Swimmer
06 - Nothing [feat. Judy Harrison]
07 - A Mother's Voice [feat. Sylvia McNair & Judy Harrison]
08 - The Entertainer And Pineapple Rag
09 - Nobody Does It Better [feat. Judy Harrison]
10 - They're Playing My Song
11 - I Cannot Hear The City [feat. Doug LaBrecque]
12 - That's How I Say Goodbye [feat. Sylvia McNair]
13 - If You Really Knew Me
14 - Through The Eyes Of Love [feat. Sylvia McNair]
15 - At The Fountain [feat. Doug LaBrecque]
16 - Sophie's Choice / If You Remember Me [feat. Judy Harrison]
17 - Marvin's Medley
18 - Bows
19 - What I Did For Love [feat. Sylvia McNair & Judy Harrison & Doug LaBrecque]


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album