Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Germaine Franco
Label: Lakeshore Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 15 June 2018

Lakeshore Records release the soundtrack to New Line Cinema’s summer comedy, TAG, which features an original score written and produced by composer Germaine Franco (Coco). For one month every year, five highly competitive friends hit the ground running in a no-holds-barred game of tag they’ve been playing since the first grade - risking their necks, their jobs and their relationships to take each other down with the battle cry: “You’re It!” This year, the game coincides with the wedding of their only undefeated player, which should finally make him an easy target. But he knows they’re coming... and he’s ready...

Germaine Franco's score for TAG is interesting, but I'd argue is not really worthy of a standalone album release. The score is a little short, containing just 23 tracks (29 min, 12 sec) and is comprised of mainly atmospheric music cues. In fact, the only tracks that stayed with me were the last two releases on the album: The sweet, moving 'You Officially Suck' and the rousing 'Doves Loophole'.

I have no doubt that in the movie they work their magic, as it's a particularly atmospheric collection of tracks, it's just that it all merges into one when listened to in isolation.

I could happily listen to more tracks like 'You Officially Suck', but as it's presented it's certainly one best heard where it was intended: in the movie.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album