Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

I Am Not an Easy Man
Original Music from the Netflix Film


Composer: Fred Avril
Label: Plaza Mayor Company Ltd
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 July 2018

Plaza Mayor Company Ltd release the soundtrack for the Netflix movie I Am Not an Easy Man, which contains the original score by Fred Avril. The movie is a French romantic comedy and follows Damien, an unmarried Don Juan, who finds himself propelled into a matriarchal society where he falls in love with Alexandra. To make the relationship work, Damien tries to decipher the inverted codes of this new world...

Fred Avril delivers some impressive set pieces for I Am Not an Easy Man. There's so many "moments" here that it will take quite a few listens to appreciate all the themes. For example, 'Recto Verso' is an intricate, yet simple track that passed me by on the first few listens. It's probably one of my favourite tracks on the album, but it took me a while to appreciate its beauty.

The album contains 16 tracks (39 min, 05 sec) with personal highlights including 'Geisho'; 'Recto Verso'; and 'Poker'.

Overall this is a subtle, and varied score which is well worth picking up.

Track listing:

01 - The Sinner by Isaac Delusion
02 - Tu Nies by Fred Avril
03 - Course 1 by Fred Avril
04 - Course 2 by Fred Avril
05 - Déambulation by Fred Avril
06 - Geishô by Fred Avril
07 - Una Donna Sa by Leopold Gilloots-Laforge
08 - You're the One That I Want by Lo-Fang
09 - Recto Verso by Fred Avril
10 - Vendôme by Fred Avril
11 - Poker by Fred Avril
12 - Boxe by Fred Avril
13 - Viens (Ruppert Pupkin) by Ruppert Pupkin
14 - Damien Wild by Fred Avril
15 - Choir by Perfume Genius
16 - Faking Love by Shaka Ponk


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album