Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Department Q
The Purity of Vengeance
Original Soundtrack


Composers: Mikkel Maltha and Anthony Lledo
Label: MovieScore Media
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 19 October 2018

MovieScore Media returns to the Danish crime series Department Q releasing the score album for Christoffer Boe’s The Purity of Vengeance, the fourth installment of the internationally successful Scandinavian crime franchise (The Keeper of Lost Causes, The Absent One, A Conspiracy of Faith). Based on Jussi Adler-Olsen bestseller, the current case of Department Q takes the investigators back to 1987 as they look into a series of disappearances all connected to the same person...

For the latest movie in the Scandinavian Department Q film series, The Purity of Vengeance, Mikkel Maltha (The Journey, You Disappear) and Anthony Lledo (Legends of Chima, Legends of Chima: Volume Two) deliver a soundtrack that offers a new style. While it's as interesting and engaging as previous scores in the series, I'd argue that it's slightly less memorable.

There are several beautiful melancholic themes that are neatly woven throughout the 25 (51 min, 04 sec) tracks. The closing 'Come Back' is probably this album's one stand out piece - a subtle theme that is hard not to be impressed by. It brings back the notable themes in one reflective piece. In many ways this track reminded me of Rob Simonsen's music for The Age of Adaline.

Overall an enjoyable score that you'll want to add to your collection if you've bought the other soundtracks in the franchise.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album