Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Warmest Christmas Wishes


Artist: Engelbert Humperdinck
Label: OK!Good Records
RRP: £13.99
OK 90158-2
6 89289 01582 2
Release Date: 09 November 2018

Iconic singer Engelbert Humperdinck releases Warmest Christmas Wishes, his first Christmas album in almost forty years, via OK!Good Records. The album features 14 (47 min, 41 sec) heartfelt holiday songs – including 2 brand new originals especially written for this album...

Following the success of his first album in over a decade, the acclaimed The Man I Want to Be, Engelbert Humperdinck brings yuletide gladness to families everywhere. Much like its predecessor, 1980’s A Merry Christmas With Engelbert Humperdinck, Warmest Christmas Wishes is a combination of classic, new and unexpected songs. Traditional holiday songs like ‘Silent Night’ and ‘O Tannenbaum’ sit next to festive standards like ‘Please Come Home for Christmas’ and ‘White Christmas’. Fans can expect to hear the latter reinvented in a Django Reinhardt-inspired swing arrangement.

Engelbert delivers Christmas cheer with contemporary tunes such as Chris Rea’s ‘Driving Home for Christmas’ and Gilbert O’Sullivan’s ‘Christmas Song’. Two new original songs – ‘Christmas for the Family’ and ‘Around the Christmas Tree’ are bound to become instant holiday favourites.

If you think this is solely an album that grandma will enjoy then you'd be wrong. Well, yes, I'm sure grandma will love it, but this is a festive album that the entire family can enjoy. Not content to just deliver an album of carols and classic festive pop songs, Humperdinck delivers an album full of songs that you know, but with a new twist on each.

I was particularly impressed with his take on 'What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?' other highlights include 'Christmas Song (I'm Not Dreaming of a White Christmas)'; and 'Silent Night'.

Buy this and it's guaranteed to become required listening every Christmas. A beautifully produced and wonderfully presented album.

01. Please Come Home for Christmas
02. Driving Home for Christmas
03. Christmas Song (I'm Not Dreaming of a White Christmas)
04. I'll Be Home for Christmas
05. Snowy Christmas (Medley)
06. A Christmas for the Family
07. Silently Falls the Snow
08. O Tannenbaum
09. Still Still Still
10. Silent Night
11. Around the Christmas Tree
12. White Christmas
13. What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?
14. Leise Rieselt Der Schnee


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album