Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Head Over Heels
Original Broadway Cast Recording


Music: The Go-Go's
Lyrics: The Go-Go's
Performed by: Andrew Durand, Taylor Iman Jones, Jeremy Kushnier, Bonnie Milligan, Peppermint and Tom Alan Robbins,
Label: Sony Masterworks
RRP: £12.99
Release Date: 09 November 2018

Sony Masterworks release the original Broadway cast recording for Head over Heels, a new musical featuring the songs of pop icons The Go-Go’s. Head Over Heels follows the escapades of a royal family on an outrageous journey to save their beloved kingdom from extinction. You’ll meet a king about to lose his throne, a queen about to lose her inhibitions, and two princesses about to find love. It’s a modern musical fairy tale where once upon a time is right now...

Head Over Heels is a bit of a strange beast. It's almost as if a production was planned, money secured and somewhere along the way it was decided that the songs weren't ready... or strong enough... And so the producers set about looking for replacement songs from the world of pop and hit upon the idea to use The Go-Go's back catalogue.

Don't get me wrong, the songs are strong and memorable (mainly because we already know them) but I wouldn't describe them as musical numbers. In the end this means that the production just feels a little flat.

The album includes an exclusive new recording of one of the band’s most popular songs, 'This Town', which marks their first studio recording in more than 17 years since their album God Bless The Go-Go’s (2000). The track, produced by Scott Sigman, was recorded exclusively for the Broadway collection by members Charlotte Caffey, Belinda Carlisle, Gina Schock, Kathy Valentine and Jane Wiedlin.

While I did enjoy it, it's not one I'll be revisiting very often. However, for those that have seen the musical and want an audio souvenir of their experience, this is an essential purchase.

Track listing:

01. We Got the Beat
02. Beautiful
03. Vision of Nowness
04. Get Up and Go
05. Mad About You
06. Good Girl
07. Automatic Rainy Day
08. Vacation
09. How Much More
10. Our Lips Are Sealed
11. Head Over Heels
12. This Old Feeling
13. Turn to You
14. Heaven Is a Place on Earth
15. Here You Are
16. Finale
17. Get Up and Go (Reprise)
18. Turn to You (Pre-Prise) *Bonus Track
19. Automatic Rainy Day (Acoustic Version) *Bonus Track
20. This Town *Bonus Track – Performed by The Go-Go’s


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album
Digital album