Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image



Artist: Foxwarren
Label: Anti- Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 30 November 2018

Growing up in scattered small towns across the Canadian prairies, Foxwarren is comprised of singer songwriter Andy Shauf (guitars/keys/vocals) and his childhood friends Dallas Bryson (guitar/vocals) and brothers Darryl Kissick (bass) and Avery Kissick (drums & percussion) who eventually found themselves in Regina, Saskatchewan. The initial sessions for this, their self-titled debut, began ten years ago in the Kissicks’ parents’ farmhouse while they were away on vacation...

Foxwarren takes its name from band members the Kissick brothers’s family home in Foxwarren, Manitoba. The four-piece's first single from the album, 'Everything Apart' is driven by the track's krautrock, drum machine, which acts as a ticking clock. It's an engaging and well paced song.

Of the album's 10 songs, personal favourites include the opening 'To Be'; 'Lost in a Dream' (the opening of which reminded me of Carter Burwell's score for Being John Malkovich); the retro sounding 'Sunset Canyon'; and 'Fall into a Dream'. But to be honest there's something to enjoy about each song - something that's very rare these days, especially on a debut album.

A well polished and immensely satisfying indie album.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Each of the store links below opens in a new window, allowing you to compare the price of this product from various online stores.

Digital album
iTunes GB
Digital album