Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

All Creatures Here Below
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


Composer: Ceiri Torjussen
Label: MovieScore Media
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 May 2019

MovieScore Media release the original soundtrack to All Creatures Here Below by Ceiri Torjussen. The film tells the harrowing story of a desperate young couple Ruby and Gensan on the run who seek refuge in Kansas City in a tragic and transcendent tale of poverty, family and love...

The score to All Creatures Here Below contains 21 tracks (40 min, 08 sec) and is one of those soundtracks that will be cherished by fans of the movie who want a musical souvenir of the film. Composer Ceiri Torjussen really does get under the skin of the characters in the movie and delivers an atmospheric and engaging score.

For me, the choral based themes were the highlight, mainly because they add an almost ethereal feeling to the score.

“My score aims to complement these dramatic themes using different sound worlds” explains Torjussen, which also makes use of the Lutheran hymn 'Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow'. “An acoustic ensemble accompanies our main characters’ trip across Middle America, contrasted with dark, synth-based sounds, which underlie their perpetual unease. In addition, ethereal, choral compositions accentuate some key dramatic moments. Ruby’s theme, heard first in the cues 'Walking Home' and 'Ruby’s Letter,' pervades the score, and is also the basis of 'Ruby’s Hymn,' for mixed choir. In this way I attempted to make the score an emotional journey through the minds of our protagonists using a singular musical motif.”

It's a solid, interesting soundtrack that will be truly appreciated by fans of the film.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album
Digital album