Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

The Fleeting Light of Impermanence


Artist: The Appleseed Cast
Label: Graveface
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 28 June 2019

Indie, post-rock outfit The Appleseed Cast release their new album, The Fleeting Light of Impermanence, via Graveface. Considered to be one of the titans in the original first wave of emo bands, The Appleseed Cast rose to the spotlight in the late '90s and early to mid 2000's, with albums, including Low Level Owl I & II...

One thing you can't moan about with The Appleseed Cast's new album, is the lacks of diversity. The Fleeting Light of Impermanence consists of 8 songs (43 min, 31 sec) that range from instantly memorable rock tracks like 'Collision' to pieces that sound almost like cinematic themes ('The Journey' and 'Asking the Fire').

It's more an instrumental journey than it is a collection of gothic rock songs, but it's interesting to see the journey the band are going on.

If you remember them from their previous releases, you may be pleasantly surprised with what they deliver here.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album
Spotify logo
Digital album