Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Music from and Inspired by the Original Motion Picture


Composer: Paul Mills
Artists: Various
Label: Reunion Records
Release Date: 02 August 2019

Provident release the soundtrack for the movie Overcomer. The film follows the story of high school basketball coach John Harrison who reluctantly agrees to coach cross-country. His outlook soon changes when he meets Hannah Scott, a runner who pushes herself to the limit for the biggest race of her life...

Normally I'm not a fan of soundtracks that mix the score from the film with songs "from and inspired by the movie". Normally. It usually reeks of desperation; a way of padding out the album with songs that didn't appear in the film. However, the soundtrack for Overcomer has some pretty memorable tracks that both capture the spirit of the movie, while also working as a pretty good standalone compilation album in its own right.

The tracks from Paul Mills's score (which is given it's own album release - and is well worth picking up) aren't just random pieces taken out of context. The album producers have carefully selected tracks that capture the essence of the movie and blend in with the other songs. Mills's score is a thing of beauty, and this acts as a taster for it.

The songs seem to get stronger the further through the album you go, ending on the show stopping 'Overcomer' which you'll be compelled to put on repeat.

A wonderfully tight collection of upbeat pop songs, peppered by Mills's wonderful score. A beautiful musical souvenir for fans of the movie.

Track listing:

01 - Enough - Koryn Hawthorne
02 - Even When You're Running - Casting Crowns
03 - Overcomer Main Theme - Paul Mills
04 - My Revival (DL Choir Remix) [feat. Lejuene Thompson] - Donald Lawrence & The Tri-City Singers feat. Lejuene Thompson
05 - Fear Is a Liar - Zach Williams
06 - A Brand New Creation - Paul Mills
07 - Control (Somehow You Want Me) - Tenth Avenue North
08 - You've Got This - Paul Mills
09 - Known - Tauren Wells
10 - Ask Me Who I Am - Paul Mills
11 - Wildfire - Bonray
12 - Medal Ceremony - Paul Mills
13 - Who You Say I Am - Hillsong Worship
14 - Overcomer - Mandisa


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album
Digital album