Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

A Journey into Deep Jazz
Vol 3


Artists: Various
Compiled by: Jean-Claude
Label: BBE Music
Release Date: 16 August 2019

Founder of London record shop IF Music and vinyl hunter extraordinaire, Jean-Claude gives us the third volume of his compilation series A Journey Into Deep Jazz on BBE Music. Jean-Claude has once again dug deep in his personal collection, emerging with an eclectic yet coherent selection of jazz sounds. Skimming the list of featured artists, such as James Brown’s former trombonist and musical director Tyrone Jefferson, Hungary’s all-time great jazz guitarist Szabó Gábor István, Czech band Jazz Celula and India’s Jazz Yatra Sextett, gives a sense of the album’s global scope. From rare cover versions of classics originally penned by Dizzy Gillespie and John Coltrane to original Japanese Mambo via an Afro-centric hip shaker made in Hungary, we travel all over the map in search of sonic bliss...

Jazz aficionados will need no encouragement to rush to buy this, the third release in the A Journey into Deep Jazz series. If you've previously bought vols 1 and 2 (if not... why not?) then you'll know what a treat you're in for. Jean-Claude spreads the net far and wide to ensure that there's a diverse collection of sounds and styles on this release.

These 10 tracks (1 hr, 21 min, 54 sec) really do leave no stone unturned. There will be artists and bands that you may have overlooked, never heard of, or thought you wouldn't like their style. This is the perfect jumping off point to help you expand your jazz collection - possibly sending you off into uncharted waters.

Track listing:

01 - 'Middle Passage' by Tyrone Jefferson
02 - 'Aladdin's Carpet' by Beaver Harris 360 Degree Music Experience
03 - '24 Carat' by Gabor Szabo
04 - 'Nepal' by Björn Alkes Kvartett
05 - 'Probuzení' by Jazz Celula
06 - 'Pan African Ballet Music' by Karlton Hester
07 - 'Manteca' by Phineas Newborn Jr.
08 - 'Dawn' by Sangam / Jazz Yatra Sextett
09 - ' Hasta La Victria Siempre' by Copa Salvo
10 - 'Impressions' by Stafford James Ensemble


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album
Spotify logo
Digital album