Click here to return to the main site.

Classical Music Review

Cover Image

Amor Fati


Composers: Various
Performed by: David Ross
Label: Ravello Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 27 September 2019

David William Ross, though considered a classical and jazz guitarist, consistently transcends both genres. He works extensively in collaboration with other accomplished artists, while also being a composer with an impressive library of works that accompany dance and performance art. Ross brings this multifaceted background to the fore in Ravello Records’s Amor Fati...

David Ross's new album, Amor Fati opens with Akira Nakada's folk lullaby 'A Song of Early Spring', arranged by Toru Takemitsu. This is followed by an interpretation of Astor Piazzolla’s 'Las Estaciones Porteñas' ('The Four Seasons'), a quintet arranged for guitar by Sergio Assad.

By this point you'll probably be mesmerised, or have slipped into a relaxing slumber. The rest of the album follows in a similar vein with other soothing tracks that wash over you in a satisfying manner, while others take on a more experimental nature.

Takemitsu's 'Equinox' is a Latin work which strays into experimental ground. This is followed by Frank Wallace’s six-part 'Cyrcles', which shifts between ethereal and experimental.

Of the final piece, Leo Brouwer’s 'Un Dia de Noviembre', Ross says: "Whenever I play this piece, I find the haunting, repeating melody truly evokes the sense of introspection one finds in November, before the winter sets in and all is asleep and at peace."

There's a little something here for every mood. Ross tackles each piece with a maturity and respect for the original that is to be admired.

Track listing:

Akira Nakada; arr. Toru Takemitsu
01 - A Song of Early Spring (5:19)

Astor Piazzolla; arr. Sergio Assad
Las Estaciones Porteñas
02 - Primavera Porteña (5:04)
03 - Verano Porteño (3:55)
04 - Otoño Porteño (5:17)
05 - Invierno Porteño (7:24)

Toru Takemitsu
06 - Equinox (7:08)

Frank Wallace
07 - Solstice I (3:33)
08 - The Light (3:26)
09 - Darkness Falling (5:25)
10 - Solstice II (2:53)
11 - The Great Sleep – Ko’s Way (6:20)
12 - First Truth (4:01)

Leo Brouwer
13 - Un Dia de Noviembre (5:06)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Spotify logo
Digital album
Digital album