Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Why We Hate
Original Soundtrack


Composer: Laura Karpman
Label: Decca Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 25 October 2019

The original soundtrack to the Discovery Channel documentary series Why We Hate has been released by Decca Records. The album features music by four-time Emmy-winning composer Laura Karpman. The docuseries explores one of humanity's most primal and destructive emotions - hate...

Laura Karpman's score for Why We Hate contains 32 tracks (1 hour, 05 min, 26 sec). Given how far reaching the documentary series is, looking at hate in all its guises, it's little wonder that this score is diverse and multi-layered.

I'd argue that you're probably going to need to see the show to really appreciate the score. A lot of the time, while I enjoyed the music, I was more intrigued with the visual imagery it was composed for. Not having seen any of the show, I can only guess.

"Why We Hate is one of the most significant projects I've ever worked on," says Karpman. "The music embodies every aspect of the human condition, from the most violent explosions of hate, to the most touching elevations of redemption. The music of the main title is large and orchestral, weaving a melody layered over the circle of fifths, so that the music never feels like it's beginning and never feels like it's ending. Like evolution and the anatomy of human struggle, the music goes and goes and goes - relentless and filled with hope."

Overall it's a pretty original score. 'Let My People Go' has a short segment that is very similar to a small part of Dave Grusin's work on The Goonies, but otherwise this felt new and fresh.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album
Digital album