Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Christmas: A Season of Love


Artist: Idina Menzel
Label: Decca Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 28 November 2019

Tony award-winning actress and singer Idina Menzel presents a festive brand new album, Christmas: A Season of Love. Produced by veteran A&R Ron Fair (Christina Aguilera, Mary J. Blige, The Pussycat Dolls), the album features chart-topping pop singer Ariana Grande, Broadway icon Billy Porter, Frozen favourite Josh Gad and Idina’s husband, Aaron Lohr. Christmas: A Season of Love sparkles with big-band energy, swinging holiday classics and brand new original songs...

Possibly most famous to the majority of the population as the voice of Elsa is Frozen, and more importantly the vocalist behind the movie's song 'Let it Go', Idina Menzel's festive themes album, Christmas: A Season of Love, represents a neat balance of Christmas standards and original songs.

There are 18 tracks here (55 min) of festive cheer. Joining Menzel on the album is Ariana Grande on 'A Hand for Mrs. Claus,' one of the new, original songs written by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez ('Let It Go'). Broadway star, singer and Emmy® winning actor Billy Porter duets with Idina on 'I Got My Love to Keep Me Warm', a song originally made famous by Dean Martin. Menzel is also joined by friend and Frozen co-star Josh Gad, the loveable voice behind Olaf. They perform 'We Wish You the Merriest', made famous by dynamic duo Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby.

It's impressive how well, and quickly, Menzel owns these songs. Yes you've heard the classics a thousand times before, and with many interpretations, but here Menzel manages to take them and give them a little modern twist that helps them stand out and make you take notice. It's subtle and very impressive.

This is the perfect album to get everyone ready for the festive period.

Track listing:

01 - Sleigh Ride
02 - The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
03 - I Got My Love To Keep Me Warm (feat. Billy Porter)
04 - Christmas Just Ain’t Christmas
05 - We Wish You The Merriest (feat. Josh Gad)
06 - A Hand For Mrs. Claus (feat. Ariana Grande)
07 - We Need A Little Christmas
08 - Oh Holy Night / Ave Maria
09 - Winter Wonderland / Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)
10 - I’ll Be Home For Christmas (feat. Aaron Lohr)
11 - Walker’s 3rd Hanukkah
12 - Ocho Kandelikas
13 - Christmas Time Is Here
14 - At This Table
15 - Seasons of Love
16 - Caroling, Caroling
17 - Auld Lang Syne Introduction
18 - Auld Lang Syne


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Spotify logo
Digital album