Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Feelings are Good


Artist: Lonely Robot
Label: InsideOutMusic
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 17 July 2020

Lonely Robot release their fourth album Feelings Are Good via InsideOutMusic, a prog rock album that really packs a punch. Crossing over into other genres like classical music and pop ensure that the LP is constantly surprising and fresh...

Feelings are Good is, at first glance, a prog rock album of some merit. But as the 13 tracks (1 hr, 01 min, 19 sec) rattle on, we soon get to see a different side to John Mitchell's writing and performing. Not only can he deliver good, solid rock tracks that stick in your mind, he's equally capable of delivering soft, slow numbers like 'The Silent Life'.

It's very rare to come across an album, which is so diverse, where each and every track could be a single in its own right. But that's exactly what Lonely Robot deliver here - which is especially impressive considering the running time is way more than most LPs manage to stretch to.

The album concludes with orchestral versions of both 'The Silent Life' and 'Crystalline'. To be honest there's not a huge deal of difference between the original and orchestral versions as they're both pretty stripped back. It just feels like the electric guitar and drums have been left out of the mix. It certainly doesn't feel like a full orchestra has been brought in. But it's still wonderful to hear them in a slightly different light.

As an aside, the instrumental break in 'Life Is A Sine Wave' reminded me of Bad English's 1989 song 'When I See You Smile'.

A wonderfully engaging and entertaining album that I know I'll be playing for years to come.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album