Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Twenty Twenty


Artist: Ronan Keating
Label: Decca Records
RRP: £13.99
6 02508 68493 7
Release Date: 24 July 2020

Decca Records release Ronan Keating's new album, Twenty Twenty, marking 20 years since the release of his debut solo album. The new LP represents reworkings of some familiar tracks as well as new songs which features contributions from Emeli Sandé, Robbie Williams, Shania Twain, Nina Nesbitt and Clare Bowen...

Twenty Twenty contains 13 songs (47 min, 36 sec) and in amongst the new compositions are a handful of old familiars. Keating's fans will totally love this release as not only is the artist on blistering form, but the album mixes the old with the new... but the old favourites have been given a bit of a modern upgrade.

The inclusion of guest artists also help to make this into a glorious feel good album. Emeli Sandé, Robbie Williams, Shania Twain, Nina Nesbitt and Clare Bowen all turn in fantastic performances. There are two versions of 'One of a Kind'. Both feature Emeli Sandé, but the second version has been arranged for orchestra.

'The Big Goodbye', which features Robbie Williams, was written as a tribute to Keating's Boyzone bandmate Stephen Gately who died in 2009.

Twenty Twenty also revisit three of Keating's biggest hits. Singer-songwriter Alison Krauss stars on his most-loved hit ‘When You Say Nothing At All’ with Ed Sheeran on guitar. The album also features reworked versions of ‘Life is a Rollercoaster’ and ‘Lovin’ Each Day’.

The album closes with the bonus track, 'Something Wonderful'. This orchestral arrangement, which is taken from the soundtrack for Galapagos: Hope for the Future', is a beautifully fitting conclusion to the LP.

Track listing

01. Forever Ain’t Enough
02. Little Thing Called Love
03. One Of A Kind (with Emeli Sandé)
04. Only Lovers
05. Forever And Ever, Amen (with Shania Twain)
06. Love Will Remain (with Clare Bowen)
07. The One (with Nina Nesbitt)
08. The Big Goodbye (with Robbie Williams)
09. Lovin' Each Day
10. When You Say Nothing At All (with Alison Krauss on vocals and Ed Sheeran on Guitar)
11. Life Is A Rollercoaster
12. Something Wonderful


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album
Spotify logo
Digital album