Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Neo Soul Sessions
Volume One


Artists: Various
Compiled by Ronnie Herel
Label: BBE Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 09 October 2020

Long-time ambassador of Urban Music in the UK, club and radio DJ Ronnie Herel presents Neo Soul Sessions - Volume One, his debut compilation for BBE Music. Offering up a meticulously selected selection of hip-hop soul gems, this release shines a light on a number of incredible artists, singers, songwriters, musicians and producers who find themselves in the netherworld between ‘underground’ and ‘overground’: too accomplished to fall into the former category, yet not ‘mainstream’ enough to fall into the latter...

Featuring UK talents Omar, Etta Bond, Children of Zeus and Terri Walker alongside US heroes Foreign Exchange, Phonte, Erro and the legendary DJ Jazzy Jeff, this collection delivers the very best in contemporary soul from both sides of the Atlantic.

Over the course of these 13 tracks (56 min, 42 sec) Ronnie Herel as our guide to some of the forgotten and sadly overlooked artists that managed to miss greatness by a quirk of fate. Each one of these songs should have had their moment to shine, yet here we are with a compilation of songs that just missed out.

Not only have these songs been carefully unearthed and presented by Herel, but the track order has also been meticulously planned, resulting in a nice balance of styles which shift pitch and tone as the album plods ever forwards.

If you call yourself a fan of hip-hop soul then this is an essential purchase.

Track listing:

01. Gave My Heart / Its so Interlood - Omar feat. Leon Ware
02. Come Over - Etta Bond
03. Slow Down - Children of Zeus
04. For Da Love Of Da Game (DJ Jazzy Jeff Remix) - DJ Jazzy Jeff feat. Rahee, V, Erro
05. Shelter - Foreign Exchange
06. My Soul Ain't For Sale - DJ Jazzy Jeff feat. Raheem DeVaughn
07. Come Around - Foreign Exchange
08. Lose Twice - Terri Walker feat. Floacist
09. Slow Down - Moods feat. Damon Truitt
10. Someone is You (Shawn's Revenge) - Darien Dean & Avery Sunshine
11. Find That Love Again - Phonte feat. Eric Roberson
12. Push On - Children of Zeus
13. Need Somebody - KOF feat. Terri Walker


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album