Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

The Dark Third (2020 Reissue)


Artist: Pure Reason Revolution
Label: InsideOut Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 16 October 2020

InsideOut Music reissue Pure Reason Revolution’s much-lauded debut album The Dark Third, which was originally released in 2006. The LP was produced by Paul Northfield (Rush, Porcupine Tree, Dream Theater), and features some of the bands best-loved tracks including 'The Bright Ambassadors of Morning', 'HeTried To Show Them Magic' and 'The Intention Craft'...

The Dark Third is released as a 2CD Digipak, and a Gatefold 2LP + 2CD edition, featuring new liner notes from band members Jon Courtney and Chloë Alper as well as producer Paul Northfield. The LP edition features the bonus track ‘Golden Clothes’ which appears on vinyl for the first time.

Pure Reason Revolution recently reunited and released Eupnea, their first new album in nearly 10 years. Listening to Eupnea and then listening to The Dark Third you could be forgiven for thinking that you're listening to two different bands and it's interesting to see how they've altered since The Dark Third was originally issued.

There's an energy here that is hard not to be swept up by, most notably in tracks like 'In Aurelia' and we move a little more into the heavy rock genre with songs like 'The Twyncyn/ Trembling Willows'.

Overall, an enjoyable album that is still fresh.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album